It is true that although advanced communication devices and the Internet became more popular, the number of old people using them remains relatively low. I believe that this development has many advantages to the elderly and several measures can be taken to make modern technologies more accessible to them.

It is true that although advanced communication devices and the Internet became more popular, the number of old people using them remains relatively low. I believe that this development has many advantages to the elderly and several measures can be taken to make modern technologies more accessible to them. It seems to me that applications of mobile phones and the Internet in health management and communication are most helpful to the older generation. In terms of healthcare, nowadays, there are several mobile software applications allowing the old to get access to health information and connect with others experiencing the same ailments, as well as their caregivers. Studies show that those are trained in the use of high-tech gadgets perform better cognitively and experience improved health. In terms of communication, the elderly can use these tools to bridge the geographical gap between them and their loved ones far away and as a way to re-connect with friends from a far-off time. This is such an important portal for reducing isolation, loneliness and other depressive symptoms. In my opinion, there are several ways to help older adults take advantage of these technological advancements. A sensible approach is that manufacturers should evaluate the technology needs older people and mobile phones use among them. Unlike their young counterparts, older users can be restricted from using the device because of its complex features and interface designs. For optimal income, it is necessary to provide the elderly with guidance and knowledge of using high-tech devices. For example, we could encourage children to teach their grandparents to use smartphones or offer free classes on computer basics to seniors. In conclusion, I am of the opinion that old people could reap many benefits from using mobile phones and accessing to online websites, and steps can be taken to help seniors to harness the power of such tools.