The animal species are becoming extinct due to human activities on land and in sea. What are the reasons for this? What solutions could be used to tackle the situation?

Human activities on land and in the ocean are indeed pushing large numbers of animals to the verge of extinction. I believe that deforestation and invasive species are the main culprits of this phenomenon while possible solutions include stricter laws and awareness-raising. The two main factors behind these extinction are clearing forests and introducing alien species. Concerning the former, farmers are turning forests into agricultural land, and loggers are harvesting timber for commercial purposes. These practices are generally considered the biggest drivers of deforestation, which in turn results in animals struggling to survive because of a lack of food and shelter. The second point is that many pet owners unintentionally introduced exotic species into new habitats, causing a decline in the populations of native ones. Take lionfish as an example. After being dumped from home aquariums into the Atlantic Ocean, these fish, due to a lack of local predators, have been multiplying rapidly, thereby threatening smaller fish they feed on. Nevertheless, governments and individuals could take action to tackle the situation. Perhaps a good idea to start with is for authorities to reinforce existing laws and impose stricter punishments to deter conversion of forests to farmland and illegal logging. Also, awareness-raising campaigns could be mounted to make consumers opt for certified timber products rather than those associated with black markets. As far as the fight against invasive species is concerned, governments may need to formulate mechanisms to detect new invaders and prevent their introduction in the first place. Individuals could equally be part of the solution by researching carefully before deciding to own an exotic pet. In conclusion, although the disappearance of some animal species stems from the loss of forests and competition from non-native species, authoritative power and individual efforts are needed to address these issues.