Should children learn a foreign language at their early age?

Foreign languages are crucial in this decade and in the far future. Nowadays, many parents send their children to foreign language centers with a hope that their children will be good at foreign languages. This raises a question that should children learn foreign languages at their early age? Children learn a foreign language at their early age is the better choice because it has some positive benefits to the children such as more creative, improving problem-solving skill, and having better understanding of other cultures. First, children who learn a foreign language are more creative. Learning a new language helps the children’s brain become bigger and increase grey matter in their brain. Those who have higher grey matter in their brain would have better memory, processing information ability, and faster calculation. They tend to give surprising ideas and have better grades in tests than other students in the class. According to Torrance Tests of Creative Thinking, bilingual children would have higher score on the test. Therefore, students who have another language would have a more creative thinking. Second, children who learn a foreign language have better problem-solving skill. Children that speak more than one language learn to understand a word or a conversation in more than one language system. This also helps them with problem-solving tasks and gives children the ability to find different solutions to solve a single problem. They are also good at planning which helps them to solve the problem in an easier way. For example, a bilingual student can solve a difficult problem faster than a normal student can. Therefore, students will have a useful problem-solving skill if they learn a new language at young age. Finally, children can get better understanding of other cultures on the world. Bilingual children have the ability to make cross-cultural communication. Children who speak more than one language can get better understand and value cultural differences, which helps them have new thinking and experience the world with new eyes. Bilingual children are able to connect with people that speak other languages and easily make new friends around the world. In fact, children who have a second language will be able to study abroad in the future thanks to their early understanding of language and the culture of its language country. Therefore, a new language will help them to understand the cultures around the world better. Opponents of learning a foreign language at young age who said that it might make the children forget their mother tongue. If we think simply, it may be correct. However, children learning a foreign language gain new language, it does not mean they replace it. Children have known about their mother tongue since their first grow up stage. They use their mother tongue to understand and learn new words and grammar structures of a foreign language. They also use it to communicate with their family at home, so it is impossible to forget their mother tongue. In conclusion, there are many benefits of learning a foreign language for children making them become more creative, improve their problem-solving skill, and have better understanding of other cultures. Parents should let their children learn a new language in order to broaden their knowledge.