The age of language learning

It is important that a person speak another language besides his/her native language in today’s world and there is an idiom about this “a language a person”. Therefore, lots of courses are opened to teach people different foreign languages in many countries. Some people think that a person should learn foreign languages at early age but some people claim that learning a foreign language at old age will be more beneficial and permanent. In my opinion, people, whether they are young or old, can learn a foreign language but the younger will learn it easier and better. Linguistics suggests that a child learn a language at an early age because those learning foreign language do not have difficulty in achieving native-like pronunciation and they learn it unconsciously. Furthermore, they may learn the language faster now that they can concentrate on the language they are learning. Although children’s minds are known for being “like a sponge” that absorbs everything, it is recommended to give them enough time to acquire and fully understand one language before introducing another one. Otherwise, they might go through a confusing time in which they won’t actually know how to express themselves. They also have lots of spare time, and if they use this spare time in order to learn the language, they will be able to comprehend quicker than the older. Moreover, there are many cartoons and music to teach foreign languages for children; henceforth, they do not get bored while learning and it is more efficient to learn a second language by watching a cartoon or listening to a song. However early children start to learn the second language, they can be unsuccessful because the crucial factor of learning a second language is to be exposed to this language. For these reasons, it is possible to say that learning a foreign language at an early age has more good than harm. Some teachers advise learning a foreign language at older ages despite the linguistics's suggestions because a language is learned easily by the older having experiences and these people learn this language more consciously. How well they learn it does not change the fact that they will never speak as well as the people who learned this language when they were young. They, however, have known their native language, they can associate with these languages; hence, they could learn the foreign language permanently. On the contrary, their heads are filled up with many things such as work, marriage, children, etc. because they are old. The concentration they have is less, neither is the time they have; thus, learning a foreign language will be taken a long time. Providing cartoons and songs for teaching language may come to them childish, they can not learn in different ways, and learning a foreign language may look like a duty for them. Consequently, they might have difficulties in learning this language. In conclusion, learning a foreign language at older ages has its benefits, but I believe that learning a foreign language at early age outweighs them in the long term. I suggest that a person learn a second language when he/she is young because they can learn it more quickly and easily.