the advantages and disadvantages of watching a television for children

Almost every home now has a television and, as a result, children may spend a great deal of their time watching it. Obviously this must have some effect on them. Is this effect harmful? In my opinion, the effects of television can be both good and bad, so wise parental guidance is essential. One of the main arguments in favour of television is the role it can play in educating children. For example, programs broadcast on channels such as Cbeebies and BabyTV, which are dedicated to pre-school education, can help young children learn to speak, count and read. For older children, television offers a wealth of interesting documentaries, quizzes and educational comedy shows that can stimulate their interest in learning about science, the natural environment, history, etc. Moreover, there are also programs which aim mainly to entertain but do, at the same time, teach children moral values and also fire their imaginations. One example of this is the Doraemon anime series, in which a little boy learns how to behave and an alien creature does magic. However, a major cause of concern among parents is the amount of violence on television. Even so-called “children’s entertainment” programs frequently involve battles between the “goodies” and the “baddies”. This has a very harmful effect on children’s moral, social and behavioural development, because it teaches them to label people as “good” or “bad” and condones the use of violence as a way of resolving disagreements. Such programs simply encourage hatred and aggression instead of promoting tolerance and conciliation. The danger is even greater if children watch violent programs that are meant for adults, such as crime stories, action movies and the like. Another danger with television is the impact of advertising. Children are bombarded with advertisements for snacks and toys. As a result, they are likely to demand a diet of junk foods high in MSG, and clamour for toys which their parents cannot afford to buy. In conclusion, certain television programs are beneficial for children while others are harmful. It is vital, therefore, that parents supervise their children when watching television and take appropriate steps to counteract any harmful effects.