the advancement of technology

Recently, some people have argued that the advancement of technology makes life ‎complicated. ‎They suggest that people should stop using technology in order to simplify their ‎life. Personally, I ‎totally disagree with this view. ‎ First of all, it is noticeable that technology has made our lives more convenient than ever ‎before. For ‎instance, Tesla introduced an alpha version of an autonomous driving system that has ‎allowed cars to ‎move automatically without drivers controlling them. With all the additional help ‎from sensors and ‎cameras, it has become safer to let computer software to take control of ‎vehicles, thus reducing ‎accidents. This explains how technologies can help to simplify the lives ‎of people; people no longer ‎need to pay attention to the situations around them and they can ‎make use of the travelling time to ‎do something else. Moreover, smart home technologies ‎minimise the number of routine activities ‎performed by people such as controlling the air ‎conditioner and checking for groceries at home. As a ‎result, people can perform various activities using smart phones, making their lives easier and simpler. ‎ Next, I believe that giving up modern technology would result in a much more complex society, ‎and ‎our lives will be difficult. For example, when the internet and phone technology were not ‎popular in ‎the past, a person needed to send a letter if he wanted to communicate with a friend ‎far away. The ‎whole process was complicated and it could take days until the sender received a ‎response. In ‎contrast, sending emails and text messages to each other through the internet ‎nowadays is not only ‎much easier, but also more cost-effective and efficient. Moreover, instant ‎response can be provided ‎by the receiver without a time delay. Therefore, maintaining our ‎globally distributed social network ‎without using modern technology would indeed become ‎complex and inconvenient. ‎ In conclusion, technology can simplify our routine activities. Our lives will be much more ‎complicated ‎without the help of modern technology. Hence, I totally disagree with the idea of ‎abandoning our ‎current technology to make our lives simpler. ‎