There has been a rapid increase in the number of people that are choosing distance learning in recent years.

There has been a rapid increase in the number of people that are choosing distance learning in recent years. I strongly support the conventional way of education as the earlier one does provide accessibility and flexibility to the students but it cannot be afforded by the poor. Distance learning is a great form of education due to its ease of availability. One can access it from anywhere at any time as it makes you not dependent on faculties or curriculum as one can decide his own pace of learning. For instance, the recent survey on class 10th students in India showcased that almost 51% of them were unable to understand and solve the mathematics that was taught in the classroom. Hence, if they choose this medium, they can modify and control the pace as per their comfort. In contrast, to pursue this form of education a person is required to have some necessary equipment like a good internet connection, high-end electronic devices, and so on. Sadly, this is not possible by the indigents as they might not even have access to basic and essential amenities, including electricity, food, etcetera. For example, the coronavirus pandemic forced schools worldwide to take classes online. Moreover, many daily-wage laborers did not even have a smartphone to begin with, which made it very difficult for their kids to attend classes. And a significant number of students dropped out of school due to this. In conclusion, even though distance learning has no restriction on location or timing, I believe it is not the best way of education at the moment because of the factor of affordability.