Thailand's and ASEAN's pollution and natural issues

One of the biggest problems regarding Thailand's and ASEAN's natural resources and the environment is our carbon footprint and our garbage disposal. Our massive issue with traffic congestion within the country and the region, creates an environment where there is a constant output of carbon throughout the last 20 years. Each person in Thailand contributes to around 3. 93 tons of co2 emission per year, which is a big reason why there has been some massive fluctuations in our air quality throughout the years. This is not only the case for Thailand, as many other South East Asian countries also experience the same dilemmas. According to studies made by the CGTN, around 450, 000 people were killed due to the side effects of intaking too much carbon into their bodies. If we have the ability to pursue more environmental-friendly and sustainable energy sources, we will be able to raise the standard of living and the quality of lives for those across South East Asia. One of the solutions that many have come up with is to enforce the usage of public transportation in developing countries. Most developing countries have large portions of the population contributing to the carbon output both industrial and personal wise. Utilization of public transportation does not only lead to a smaller output of carbon emissions, it also allows for fossil fuels and natural resources to be utilized more efficiently. The second issue that has appeared in the region is that none of the countries in SEA has an effective way to dispose of waste. This will prove to be a roadblock for the future generations as they will have to find solutions to remove garbage dumps across each respective country. Countries in Southeast Asia have the highest shares of plastic waste that is deemed inadequately mismanaged. Just five countries–China, Indonesia, the Philippines, Thailand, and Vietnam–produce half of all plastic waste in the world’s ocean. In addition to the statistics presented above, Only 9% of all plastic is recycled, while 79% heads straight to landfills. Another 12% is incinerated. This means that of the estimated 8. 3 billion tonnes of plastic existing in the natural world or in landfills worldwide, only 500 million tons are recycled. One of the reasons why the rubbish output of the country is so high is because there has never been an effective filtration system for garbage within many of the countries in SEA. In order to combat this massive issue, the government needs to implement and enforce laws regarding recycling and reusing products that should not be disposed of. This includes glass bottles, plastic bottles, cardboard boxes, cans, and other objects of daily usage. With the usage and implementation of a filtration system within countries across the South East Asian region, the garbage output is set to decrease drastically. Despite the fact that there is a solution to fix future garbage disposals, there is yet to be any alternatives to rid of the garbage dumps throughout each and every country in South East Asia. The only way that has proven to be beneficial to lowering the amount of landfill creation is through living a more sustainable lifestyle. Each countries’ government should be required to educate and bring attention to the conundrum that we are facing at this very moment. The citizens of each respective country of South East Asia have the responsibility and power to take care of their own environment.