Why should you study abroad?

As expressed by the Publications Office of the EU, ’There is a large consensus among policymakers and scholars that spending time abroad during university studies is highly beneficial to students in terms of their professional and personal development. ’. Those searching for new perspectives, environments, opportunities, look no further than to study abroad. Studying abroad urges you to step out of your comfort zone by creating a sense of ambiguity, and influencing you to become more attentive to aspects in your surrounding environment. Furthermore, it allows for an experience with an entirely new culture, framework and lifestyle. Studying abroad will help to develop personal skills. Going abroad is an opportunity to discover new strengths and abilities, conquer new challenges and solve new problems. Of course, the journey through studying abroad will not always be 'rainbows and sunshine'. Those who choose this path will likely experience setbacks, failures and disappointments. However, at the end of the day these are all life lessons which will develop one's character and maturity. As someone who had spent a significant period of their life in a country other than his homeland, I can say wholeheartedly that studying abroad transformed me substantially. My time abroad led me to grasp concepts and cultures that I would never have acknowledged in my life. My experiences allowed me to become more knowledgeable in global/international issues, it granted me lasting experiences and friendships that I treasure to this day. Through changes to their perspective on life, as well as development to their character, studying abroad will bring positive growth to those willing to choose it.