Tests and examinations are a central feature of school systems in many countries. Do you think the educational benefits of testing outweigh any disadvantages?

Much could be said about different ways of testing or checking students at schools or universities. The most popular ones have always caused been causing very exciting discussions and debates around the world. We all do realise that teachers need to have a system that helps them to test their students' knowledge, so they can see how effective their teaching methods are. The question is do we really need to put so much pressure on these features? Are they really so effective? The first thing about tests and exams is, that they do check the level of information the students managed to learn from the lectures. The questions usually cover the area that has been taught at the institute, so if students can answer them correctly it means that the teaching was successful. On the other hand, some students might feel discouraged by the same fact that makes the others motivated, but of course, results in low marks in the actual exam. They also think that the results are very often not relevant to their efforts they put into studying. Because the marking system is not fair, they just do not feel like studying more for the exam. To put things together, is there really such a big need for exams at schools? Is there really no other way to check how students effective are the teaching methods? That is of course not that easy, but still, I am deeply convinced that things can be changed. It requires all the involved sides to think and come up with new ideas that could later be put into schools and that wouldn’t be that stressful anymore, so students can actually start enjoying them.