Tests and examinations are a central feature of school systems in many countries.

The majority of educational establishments use tests and examinations as a way to assess the knowledge of students. Although it allows schools to perform students’ appraisals quickly and easily, in my opinion, its drawbacks outweigh its advantages. On the one hand, an exam is a very convenient and fast form of assessment. All students can take a test in one place at the same time. Moreover, the format and questions are similar, hence it becomes easy for an assessor to check answers. Furthermore, such testings can be adapted to various situations. For instance, examinations can be done online during the coronavirus outbreak and lockdowns. Another advantage is that all course curriculum can be tested in one exam using different question formats and writing tasks. Such assessment requires constant learning and knowledge of all information from the course, therefore it ensures that students assimilate the given material. On the other hand, examinations and tests can be plagiarised and cheated since all students have similar questions which do not require the personal opinion, answers can be copied and an assessment becomes irrelevant. Moreover, testings do not account for the application of knowledge to real-life situations. They only evaluate knowledge given by the teacher to students. Whereas group presentations, case studies, and some forms of written assignments check students' understanding of the material and allow them to apply gained knowledge which is a useful practice for future employment. In conclusion, most of the schools focus on examinations to test students, however, in my opinion, such testings do not evaluate a real understanding of a subject. There are other kinds of assessments that perform much more relevant appraisal.