the risks nature is facing because of human's activities

The life of all of us is characterized by a hectic pace, always looking for something to do and never really pausing our thoughts to think about what surrounds us. I guess that is the cause why most of the people act disinterested in how the world is changing around us, mostly because it is common to think that it doesn’t directly affect our life, which is a common misbelief. From the very ancient times, men have always needed nature to survive. Starting from the essential activities such as eating, building a shelter to live in, lighting a fire to keep warm… As the time went on, men started expanding their knowledge and with the industrial revolution they started seeing nature just as a mean to exploit to become richer, forgetting its real importance. I hope that today almost everyone is aware of the fact that our environment, our world is in real danger and there’s the need to actively do something to preserve it. One of the most important goal of the 2030 Agenda is the 15th goal: Life on the land. This goal aims to sustainably manage forests, combat desertification, halt and reverse land degradation, halt biodiversity loss. All these goals aim to restore nature to its original form since human activity has altered almost 75 per cent of the earth’s surface, squeezing wildlife and nature into an ever-smaller corner of the planet. Our planet is constantly trying to warn us that we are harshly damaging it, just thinking about species extinctions or about the covid 19 outbreak. In fact, in 2016 the United Nations Environment Programme pointed out that 75 per cent of all emerging infectious diseases in humans are zoonotic and that these zoonotic diseases are closely interlinked with the health of ecosystems. I believe each of us should make a thoughtful effort to just take from nature what we need to survive and nothing else more. As Ghandi said, we wouldn’t have to face all these catastrophes if men would just take what he truly needs and not always looking for more, because of his greediness. An example of that could be seen in our country. It is called ‘Overshoot day’ the day when umanity's resource consumption for the year exceeds earth’s capacity to regenerate those resources that year. This year we have exceeded this limit on the 13th of May, which means that we have taken too much from our planet compared to what we really needed to take. In conclusion, I am strongly convinced there is the urge that everyone decides to activley fight for the planet because we need to preserve the life of our Earth. I hope by 2030 the 15th agenda’s goal will be achieved as well as the awerness of this problem will be completely reached by any individual.