Test and Examination are central feature of school system in many countries. Do you think educational benefits of test outweigh any disadvantages?

Much could be said about different ways of testing or checking students at schools or universities. The most popular ones have always caused been causing very exciting discussions and debates around the world. We all do realize that teachers need to have a system that helps them to test their students' knowledge, so they can see how effective their teaching methods are. The question is do we really need to put so much pressure on these features? Are they really so effective? The first thing about tests and exams is, that they do check the level of information the students managed to learn from the lectures. The questions usually cover the area that has been thought at school, so if students can answer them correctly it means that the teaching was successful. The other, equally important aspect is, that due to the tests or exams that students are facing at school they get motivated to study more, in order to get better marks and to improve their knowledge. Sometimes it might be just the fact that it is called an exam, that makes students get together and study harder. On the other hand, some students might feel discouraged by the same fact that makes the others motivated what of course results in low marks in the actual exam. They also think that the results are very often not relevant to the efforts they put into studying. Because the marking system is not fair, they just do not feel like studying more for the exam. Furthermore, many students find the exams of different kinds very stressful, especially the school ones. They often think that there could be another way of testing, less stressful, that should be introduced in schools or universities. The supporters of this opinion often bring out the fact, that most of the students start smoking actually because of the stress they are exposed to at school. And that is definitely not beneficial for you or your health. To put things together, is there really such a big need for exams at schools? Is there really no other way to check how students effective are the teaching methods? That is of course not that easy, but still, I am deeply convinced that things can be changed. It requires all the involved sides to think and come up with new ideas that could later be put into schools and that wouldn’t be that stressful anymore, so students can actually start enjoying them