telling the truth is the most important factor of any relationship, ?

Although, it is considered by some that the crime rate can be reduced by strict prison rulings, others believe that alternative methods should be focused to reduce the crime occurrences in a society. In my opinion, I consider long imprisonments a viable option, depending on the nature and motive of the crime committed. On the one hand, some consider that strict imprisonments can cut down crimes because of deterring effect on individuals. In other words, consideration of long imprisonment will have a psychological effect in stopping a person from committing an offence. For example, Saudi Arabia has long imprisonments for high degree offences like rape and thefts, which has resulted in the negligible occurrence of these crimes over the recent years. Thus, the mere consideration of a long stay in a prison will stop a person to be involved in a crime and this will be helpful in reducing crime rates. On the other hand, some people consider other options to be much more viable in reducing crimes in a society such as involving of offenders in free community work. This will enable them to be involved in a society in a positive way rather than interacting with other criminals in a prison. Moreover, by doing free community jobs like maintaining and cleaning parks, will be helpful in better rehabilitation of offenders and will be helpful to pubic at the same time. It is, thus, clear why many are proponents of alternatives of long imprisonments. In my opinion, how an individual ought to be punished depends on the nature and motive of the crime committed. There should be prolonged confinements for heinous crimes like murder and rapes as the offenders of such crimes have bad motives against human life which need to be dealt strictly. But people involved in lesser degree offences can be punished by other means such as involving in free community work. In conclusion, although there is a variable opinion about reducing crimes by a prolonged stay in prisons or alternative methods, I consider that punishment as per the nature of the crime is a more suitable option in controlling crime rates.