Television serves many functions. Watching TV makes us relax. We can learn knowledge and information from TV programs. Besides, TV can also be seen as a companion.

The impact of Television to the society, which was always debatable, has now become more controversial. While some people believe that TV is to inform people in the society, others claim that TV is to entertain and this bring problems than benefits. This essay will elaborate on both sides of the debate and thus lead to a logical conclusion. At the outset, there are numerous reasons why TV has brought positive benefits to the society, but the most preponderant one lies in the fact that Television would be a good source of information to gain some knowledge from programs such as cooking show and news. An instance illustrating action is the fact that the survey conducted at the University of Canberra, which indicates that 60% of people in Japan prefer that TV is to inform news around the globe so that people know what is happening in the society. Furthermore, based in my own experience, I have used TV to entertain some of my friend while I was cooking dinner for them. Nevertheless, some people adopt an opposing view and tend to believe that this can bring disadvantages. It is largely attributed to the fact that people used as to entertain their loved one such as young children and older people. The most example that could be provided here is the article published in the Times magazine, which clearly illustrates that the majority of people in Korea often believe that TV is to entertain people in the society. In conclusion, while there are strong arguments on both sides of the debate, I strongly believe that TV is quite essential to our society and it provides us to entertain as well as to inform important event for instance news.