Television, newspaper, and other media pay too much attention to the personal lives of famous people such as public figures and celebrities

Mass media play a significant role in our society as they elucidate a great deal of different information for people. The professional journalists work for various purposes to deliver the latest and the most sensational news about political, social and economic issues and of course the materials concerning entertainment in all its manifestation. In this essay, I would like to express my personal point of view upon this subject. First of all, I am fully agreed with the title of this essay and I consider it as the real challenge in modern society. People are using many contemporary gadgets these days which give them lots of opportunities to know the things inside out. But the most intriguing and absorbing themes for ordinary people are articles in gossip columns of many newspapers and glossy magazines about movie and pop stars, their glamorous way of living and scandals on their love affairs. Television contributes the problem too, as it shows too much of private and secret details of contemporary stars. The audience is disquiet over big money celebrities and other famous people earn, the clothes they wear, cars they drive and homes they live in and so on. Nowadays it is very popular to know many specific ins and outs of our favourite idols. In addition for many teenagers and young adults these public people are heroes and examples to follow. They admire and fall in love with celebrities, discuss their difficulties and try to get closer to them through the internet, people subscribe for the personal pages of singers, film stars, TV presenters, politicians and others in popular social networks. It seems to me that media should stop their attempts to conquer people via their powerful sources of information, obtrude the unnecessary ideas of getting involved too much into public people’s personal affairs and life. We must live our own life, thinking about our future without pretending to be someone else. There are a lot of other apparent examples in our life where media can be the far more useful source of knowledge, e. g. in education, science, medicine etc. To sum up I would like to state that modern media  make us addicted to the current trends and it is sometimes impossible to stay away from its oppressive influence. Nevertheless, it is up to us to make our own choice in everything that we watch, read, listen or dream about.