Television is doing irreparable harm.

In this technology-focus world, the problem concerning the medium of entertainment is really contentious because advocates of each side hold strong viewpoints. Some critics think that television is doing irreplaceable damage. However, others take up the opposite view. As far as I am concerned, I completely support the former way of thinking because of the following reasons. To begin with, the program on television is not always good and suitable for different ages. Though they frequently have a big audience, their contents are quite superficial and in poor taste. Several channels show a lot of advertising during their daily broadcastings, leading to negative consumption habits and materialistic behaviors. In addition, TV is swamped with a vast number of rubbishy commercials or spectacles of sadism and violence, which might establish wrong concepts among the audience, mainly on children, that influence them into having negative behaviors. Another point worth taking into account is that spending too much time in front of the TV sets will have a severe effect on individuals both mentally and physically. In other words, watching television for prolonged periods of time will affect people’s eyes and lead to deterioration of the mental capacity in older people by causing both attention and memory problems in the long term. Besides, that monster cuts us off from the real world, we get so lazy, we choose to spend a fine day in semi-darkness, glued to our sets, rather than go out into the world. As a result, it prevents us from communicating with each other and exchanging our emotions. On the basis of the above discussion, each side of the argument does prove convincing to a certain extent. Nevertheless, my own view is that the TV set is having irreparable influences on individuals due to the reasons that I have mentioned above.