Television has many useful functions to play in everyone’s life, for some its relaxation, for some it is the companion. Discuss your viewpoint and support your answer with examples and discussion points.

These days, whether television has many useful functions to play in everyone’s life, for some its relaxation, for some it is the companion has sparked a heated debate. Although such an issue is contested by many, it is regarded thoroughly both constructive and positive by a substantial number of individuals. As such, there are both merits and demerits to this trend, but I am of the opinion that the former outdo the latter. There are many arguments in favor of my stance, but the most conspicuous one is that not only adults but also children could learn and gain knowledge by watching useful television programs, especially documentation and education series. One standout example is originated from the fact that learning visually through watching TV is the best way to create a long term memory. In addition, it is indisputable that when audiences choose to watch programs that they think interesting, they seem to catch the ideas better than reading the book that they do not prefer. Needless to say, all these upsides are beneficial to the young learners when learning by watching television. Another pivotal aspect of this issue is that spending too much time on television could increase the risk of obesity. The primary one stems from the fact that there are more and more couch potatoes in society. Last but not least, this can be exemplified that active lifestyles should be considered. Hence, it is apparent why many are against the over-dependence on TV. In view of the argument outline above, one can conclude that the benefits of the television for relaxation and the companion are too great to ignore.