Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Learning a foreign language is no longer rare in our society and it became popular across the world. Many people learn various languages for their own reasons. Some people believe that people study a foreign language just to be able to travel to or get a job overseas. Others think that there are more reasons for it. In my opinion, people have various reasons. There is no doubt that is the ability to speak a foreign language is substantially effective to travel abroad. For example, when you travel to some places where you do not understand their language, your experience in understanding its culture and interacting with the local people will be limited. Moreover, overcoming language barriers opens up numerous opportunities to work in the country where the language is spoken. The benefits of speaking a foreign language, however, are applied beyond these regards. Because of globalization, the number of immigrates and tourists all over the world has been increased in the last decade. For this reason, every country needs more people who are able to use different languages besides their own. Fluent language skills are considered highly valuable skills in employ market. For instance, the branch office located in South Korea, headquartered in Canada, will look for someone who can speak both English and Korean fluently. To conclude, I believe that people do study foreign languages with diverse reasons and motives. It is certainly useful skills to obtain both in their own country and overseas. which is rewarding the learners in plenty of ways.