Television has had a significant influence on the culture of many societies.

Television has become an integral part of our lives and its difficult to imagine our routine without it. We use television for entertainment, news, learning etc. It does have a number of advantages which makes it a crucial need of every family. This machine makes information easily accessible, entertains us with a wide range of programs, keeps us updated with the general affairs and the list continues. It also serves as a mean of financial source for many marketing companies, business companies can advertise on television to enlarge their market. While televisions have a lot of pros, it has a lot of cons too. Since it has made variety of programs so accessible and handy people do not tend to socialize. This in turn greatly reduces the cultural bonding and leads to the diminishing of social gatherings. Children on the other side do not play outdoors but get engaged to the animation shows on TV, this critically affects their mental and physical health. For example, in housing societies that are built recently, we do not observe people celebrating together or even helping their neighbors in their difficult times. Many report that they are not even aware of who is living next to them, this in turn increases loneliness and depression that leads to even harmful medical situations. In conclusion, we can say that television is undoubtfully useful but one should understand the extend of usage of this machine. No technology can replace the joy of social and cultural bonding, so a manageable time should be given to socialization and television to maintain a proper balance.