Television dominates the free-time of too many people. It can make people lazy and prevent them from socialising with others.

Owing to the constant development of the television set and its running programmes, some people have stated that it occupies all of people’s leisure-time which can cause people to be slothful and hinder them from socialising with others. However, while I believe that television has its positive aspects, I strongly agree with the above statement. To begin with, a positive impact of television is individuals being able to have more gratifying free-time by indulging in interesting TV shows. For instance, the availability of multiple genres of programmes on the television such as sci-fi, romance and thriller gives people options to choose something they actually enjoy. Another positive impact is faster communication of important news to people. News channels can easily pass worldwide information, which brings about knowledge expansion. In spite of the advantages, let us take a look at why I agree with the aforementioned disadvantages. Television causing laziness and deterring people from interacting with others during their free-time can be detrimental to both individuals and the society as a whole. For example, some people binge-watch their favourite shows for hours or days without carrying out other activities like eating well, bathing and brushing their teeth, which are all necessary for good personal hygiene. This can cause health problems for them. Also, the fact that it hinders people from socialising means that it negatively affects forming or maintaining close and supportive relationships which consequently, will affect the society as a whole as it will become disjointed. To sum these up, we can see that in as much as television has its positive sides as it can be pleasurable and educative, there can also be negative impacts on individuals and the society. Therefore, people should manage their free-time well and make room for other important aspects of their lives.