Some people believe that non-academic subjects should be removed from the syllabus so that children can concentrate only on academics.

Academic subjects are very important for a student. It is the basic requirement which is required by one to get a good job, a placement in a good college, etc. In addition to this, children should also be taught. non-academic subjects which will in turn help in the overall development of the child. However, some individuals think that for children to concentrate well on their academics, non-academic subjects should not be included in their syllabus. Though, this poses some advantages, some disadvantages should also be taken into consideration. Firstly, for students to gain more knowledge and to know how to think and analyze a problem, academic subjects play a major role. For example, subjects like mathematics and physics help a student to improve their time management skills and also their problem-solving skills. Secondly, when academic subjects are given more importance, there are possibilities for students to focus only on them and not on non-academic subjects which is also important. Concentrating only on academic subjects can also pose some negative impacts on the students. Firstly, a student learning only his academic subjects can also cause stress. Secondly, students won’t get a chance to showcase their talents. For example, if he/she is good at singing, he/she should be provided an opportunity to learn more about it. Therefore, importance to non-academic subjects should also be given. Thus, in my view, I disagree that non- academic subjects should be removed from the syllabus so that children can focus more on the academic subjects.