Television dominates the free-time of too many people. It can make people lazy and prevent them from socialising with others.

Televisions are now an important part of our life and considered as the best source of entertainment for almost everyone. However, I firmly believe that spending our leisure time in front of the television sets is going to make our lifestyle sedimentary and stops us from being part of social events. This essay is going to discuss the above reasons in detail with examples. Firstly, the entertaining programs on the television networks keep us glued to them for a very long time and prevents us from doing any kind of physical activity. Thus, such a sedimentary lifestyle is detrimental to our health. For instance, it is important for children to play outdoor games but they prefer to watch cartoons at home. Hence, they are losing grip on their physical activities and it results in obesity or other health issues in the children. Secondly, nowadays, TV is such an integral part of our day to day activities that we can skip to meet our friends, if a popular program is running on it. So, our social participation is reducing day by day. For example, people used to go to parks and meet other society members in the evening time, it helped them to stay connected with each other. However, the prime time shows are now taking over such social event participation. Resultantly, we are less interested in being part of the real world events. In conclusion, the modern day society is more inclined to televisions, leaving us at the doors of sedimentary, unhealthy and un-social lifestyle. Furthermore, I agree that we need to look at this problem more seriously and spend our leisure time more thoughtfully.