Television advertising are directed toward young children (aged two to five) nowadays. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, it is increasingly observed that kids have become the focus group for television commercials. This essay will discuss the benefits of this trend and also dwell on the drawbacks of such attention on the young audience. The foremost advantage of this thought process is enhanced advertiser profit margins. Because maximum retail selling of products are in the kid’s category, the promotions are now more targeted towards children. To illustrate, a recent study of a renowned retail store indicated that highest selling of goods from the past five years had resulted from the kid’s section of the store. Another major cause for this trend is an indirect influence on other age groups. When toddlers force their parents to take them to stores to buy baby products, these adults end up navigating through their own preferred goods and buying the same. However, a major downside to such exploitative marketing is the excessive consumption of harmful food by babies. Due to the advent of eye-catching food items depicted in these promotions, the youngsters convince their guardians to buy them these delicacies. As a result, by consuming such junk food, the children face a direct negative impact on their health. To exemplify, an interview of a leading dentist revealed that 80% of his child patients who faced dental issues invariably watched commercials with any adult supervision. Furthermore, when these promotions do not come good on their good’s quality, the young audiences are left with their heart broken. To conclude, there is no doubt that today’s televised marketing considers children to be their prime consumers. While this brings along a host of advantages for the advertising giants, the corresponding negative consequences on these young minds cannot be ignored. Thus, it is recommended that parents keep a strict vigil and set the expectations with their toddlers about such unrealistic marketing.