Teen drug abuse can occur for many reasons

In recent years, the number of addicted youngsters has raised constantly. Many young talents are wasted and families are destroyed due to drug abuse, especially by teenagers. Teen drug abuse can occur for many reasons, some of which are low self-esteem, permissive parenting and peer pressure. First of all, teens often begin using drugs because of low self-esteem. They are sensitive during adolescence. Drugs make them feel powerful. Youngsters are often motivated to look for new experiences, particularly those they perceive as thrilling or daring. Also with drug addiction, teens are living in a community with a high tolerance for drug use. Secondly, teenagers use drugs because of permissive parenting. In many families, both parents work outside the home, so they don’t have time to pay attention to their children’s needs. Consequently, parents may not be aware of warning signs that their children show. The lack of proper counselling and youngsters curiosity drive many teenagers to try new drugs. Thirdly, many teenagers use drugs because of peer pressure. Today’s society is a very competitive one, and the pressure to perform athletically or academically can be intense. Various young adults may turn to certain drugs like illegal or prescription stimulants because they think those substances will enhance or improve their performance so that they can fit into a group and make “instant” friends. Many believe they cannot live up to their parents’ expectations, and feel a sense of hopelessness and frustration. Drugs are used as a means of expressing dissatisfaction with the pressures that they face in society. In conclusion, drug issue is affecting our future generations. The more risk factors present such as low self-esteem, permissive parenting and peer pressure, the more likely a teenager may be to abuse drugs. The best way to stop teens from using and abusing drugs is to address all these causes. Only then will there be a decrease in the number of teenagers who use drugs.