Discuss how this module has contributed to knowing, developing and promoting yourself towards achieving your professional goals in the future. You may want to use Kolb’s Reflective Model to inform and structure your answer.

In my 10 years of experience, I have been successful at performing the tasks assigned to me and have developed various skills like team management, communication, soft skills etc. Sure, enough it came with some hiccups, but I have never done any self-assessment to in those years to understand my strengths, weakness or my goal in life. I will have to say, that, I always thought that this is how a corporate life should be learning skills and growing. The ‘Knowing, Developing and promoting yourself towards achieving your professional goals’ module has impelled me in a positive way to sit, assess and determine my values, personality traits, strengths and weakness. Over the period of the module, I have researched on various and came across various topics like strength finder, SWOT analysis, etc. These have helped me in knowing myself. I have learnt that self-awareness is also an important aspect in life not only professionally but also on a personal level. In my previous experience I have observed that I was able to gel and mingle with people on a personal level and would help any team mate or person in need of help. One of the instances that I recall from my previous organization is that one of the team members approached me, wanting to learn about the project functionality. I was overwhelmed with his initiative and sat with him for extra hours after the office to ensure that he gained the knowledge he was looking for. We ended up being good friends. A few days later I was approached by more of my colleagues and new joiners asking to learn the same. This and many such instances have ascertained that bonding with people and helping them has been my nature, but I have never seen these qualities as a professional or a personal achievement or a like a development goal. Owing to the module I have not only been clear about my strengths but also other aspects like my weakness, threaths, opportunities. I have been able to set my self a short term and a long term goal with timelines, which I know will drive me towards a positive change in my life. Knowing my personality characteristics will also help in my future interviews, where I will be able to answer the ‘behavioural interview’ questions without giving it much thought as the module has clearly given me an idea about it.