Technology is becoming increasingly prevalent in the world today. In the not too distant future, technology will completely replace the teacher in the classroom. Analyse both sides of this argument.

The use of technology is increasing rapidly in the modern world. Growing technological influence can even be seen in the classroom. The argument that technology will completely replace human teachers in the foreseeable future is a subject that is both supported and refuted by many. This essay will analyse this argument before declaring a position. Firstly, when communicating simple concepts that can be taught through repetitive games, machines seem capable of matching or even surpassing the teaching abilities of human beings. For example, several tablet applications are starting to be used in classrooms because they are able to hold the attention of young children and teach them tremendous amounts of vocabulary. Thus, it is clear that for simple concepts that can be taught through repetition, robotic teachers are as effective as human teachers. However, whether this proves true for more complex classroom concepts or situations remains questionable. It must be remembered that a teacher powered by artificial intelligence would have little to no control over its students. For example, it is commonly understood that children require the watchful eye of a teacher to ensure that they are indeed completing their class work and not fooling around during class time. Unfortunately, this is something that a robotic teacher simply could never provide. This evidence makes it thus doubtful that technology will ever completely replace the teacher in the classroom. In summary, both sides of the argument regarding the possibility of a technologically driven classroom have strong support. However, because class content must extend beyond simple concepts that can be learned through repetition, it is clear that the idea of having a class run entirely by a machine remains unlikely. I thus feel the scenario of automated classroom instruction will not materialise anytime in the foreseeable future