Some people think that some types of criminals should not go to prison. Instead they should do unpaid work in the community.

Owing to the great variety of crimes that can be punishable by prison, some people argue that not all criminals deserve such strict measures and, it would be more appropriate to give some community services instead. One justification that can be given for prisons is to save society by removing criminals from the streets. So the first thing to consider when someone has broken the law is the level of danger to other people. In the case of violent crime, it has to be appropriate to keep the offender away from the outer world. However, there are cases, such as burglary or possession of drugs, which do not involve violence against society. Keeping these types of criminals in prisons is an extra bargain for taxpayers and predominantly does not prevent future crimes. In other words, after being released, people like these commit the same crimes. As for me, punishments should reform people so, they do not re-offend. Another reason not to put these people in prison is that they may mix with more dangerous criminals and potentially might commit a worse crime after being released. By keeping them in the community, we help them gain new skills and develop sympathy and compassion for others. It occurs, society can only benefit. Critics of the rehabilitative approach to criminals declare that justice should be harsh in order to prevent further crime commitment. However, there is little evidence that long prison sentences deter criminals. To conclude, putting criminals who are not a danger to society in prison is expansive for the authorities and ineffective, both as a deterrent and as a form of rehabilitation. Unpaid work in the community for non-violent criminals can be beneficial for both society and the offender. I strongly believe that decisions of how to react to some types of crooks should be bases on what actually works.