Technology has changed the way we communicate for the better.

It is believed that our communication has been improved thanks to technological advancements. However, I am of the opinion that the apparent benefits of a faster and cheaper connection are outweighed by the detrimental effects created by the spread of fake news and social isolation. On the one hand, technology has transformed communication in terms of convenience. The world is now made smaller and we can communicate across borders with greater ease as compared to decades ago. Free international phone calls are made via many readily available applications on smart devices such as FaceTime, and Skype. Messages can now be sent instantly and people can constantly update their statuses with long-distance family members and friends. In more professional work and learning settings, the advent of email has allowed conversations to be more easily traced and followed up, which in turn enforces operational continuity. On the other hand, there are more serious aspects where online conversations have done more harm than good. Instead of feeling more connected as intended, the quality of relationships are worsened as face-to-face conversations are disrupted by the presence of technology. Social gatherings have witnessed the increasing occurrences of people with their eyes glued to their phones instead of interacting with one another. On an even more serious note, instant postings and online sharings have allowed unverified information to spread quickly and widely on the internet. This poses dire consequences on both the online and offline community. False information and criticisms on a person could be considered cyberbullying and might take a heavy toll on a person’s privacy and mental health. Instances of Korean actors and actresses being harshly criticised and eventually taking their lives are not strange to K-Pop fans. In conclusion, I believe the fact that technology has made communication much more convenient and cheaper does not mean it is better due to the decreased quality of direct social interactions and the complicated ramifications of fake news. We need to utilize it with more prudence in order to create a healthier online community.