technology - boon or bane

It is a fact that man has been working very hard to make his life easy! The kinds of tools, appliances and gadgets that surround us today, would have just been a figment of our imagination, even just a decade ago. Our mornings start with buzzers and reminders guiding us through the day - only to end with beeps and blinks before we sleep. Right from the alarm that wakes up, the electrical geyser that gives us a warm bath, the automatic percolator that makes our coffee to the dishwasher that replaces our househelp - its a wonder that we have been able to co-exist with so many hands without having to use our own. Although it does sound like a convinient thing at the outset - in reality it is my opinion that these are more of banes that being a boon. Every appliance that assists us through the day, actually steals away a part of our health in big or small ways. The alarm robs away our natural body clock from being active. The geyser stops us from using traditional health giving ways to heat our water or even enjoy a natural cold shower. The percolator may create the standard coffee that never alters in taste but takes away the joy of a hand crafted brew and the little delayed gratification it can create to our craving. Similarly the dishwasher takes away our time with our own hands to clean what we have soiled. Although it can be argued that these are time saving measures - in reality these are making us dependent and robbing away tasks which our bodies are totally capable of doing - in return making it more lazy and unhealthy. The only alternative left would be to add to the already long list of accessories by adding more that are needed to take care of our health such as treadmills, heart rate checkers and massagers to activate blood circulation to keep the body active and fit! Its important for each individual to weight what should enter his or her life such that the benefits they bring are really worth their bit!