In many countries plastic bags are the main source of rubbish causing pollution in oceans and on land; therefore they should be banned. with this statement?

Climate is affected heavily due to manmade activities. One of the activity involves use of plastic bags for various reasons which effects ocean, land and air. Some countries, as a counter measure, have banned use of plastic bags to reduce harmful and poisonous effects on environment and reduce pollution. I agree that such practice should be accepted by all the countries across the globe. Primarily, Oceans and Sea around the world are polluted due to various reasons such as releasing sewage waste in ocean water, industrial wastage removal into the seas, sabotaging of ships containing oil barrels, throwing various items made of POP into water and many other things apart from throwing plastic bags. However, according to research, 60-95% of the waste in water is due to plastic debris. Secondly, land is polluted because of the reasons like sewage waste and plastic waste. Sewage waste are biodegradable which is less harmful over the period of time whereas plastic takes hundreds and thousands of year to break down so environmental damage is long-lasting. Additionally, when plastic is dumped in landfills, it interacts with water and forms hazardous chemicals which is harmful for soil. Thus, use of plastic should be reduced and substitutes of plastics should be invented to avoid it completely. Many countries have already banned plastic usage and such practice should be followed by all so that climate stays unaffected due to such manmade activity.