The best way to reduce traffic congestion in cities is to provide a free public transport service. Give your opinion and examples from your own experience.

Traffic congestion is the most unavoidable issue faced by public in today’s era. There are many alternatives in which such problem can be resolved. One of the way to reduce congestion is by using public transport service. I agree that by providing free public transport service some countries can reduce traffic congestion along with curbing pollution but it may not be the best way for all countries. If public transport is freely available to public, then people will less likely travel by private vehicles in order to save transportation cost thereby reducing traffic on road. Such facility will be more effective if daily commuters are using. Additionally, less number of private vehicles helps to avoid other problems like parking outside parks, waiting at toll plazas and malls. Furthermore, less vehicles means less pollution. For example, bus carrying 60 people can easily reduce congestion and pollution than 60 cars carrying one person each. However, in many countries this alternative is not feasible. In some developing or under developed countries, public transport services are not fully developed. In fact, Railway/road network connectivity are very poor and roads available cannot cater traffic of even private vehicles because of poor road conditions. Additionally, if public transport is available for free then people will rush over bus stops and railway stations which may lead to fatal injuries. For example, if Mumbai local trains are made free then it will be over loaded and many people may die of accidents. I agree that free public transport may help reduce traffic congestion but it may not be the best and suitable way for all countries. Such idea can be implemented only in the countries where tenancy ratio is very less.