Technology allows food to be produced in greater quantities at lower prices. Some people believe this is a positive development, while others feel that the change is harmful.

Modern machine makes food to be made in higher numbers at reduced amounts. Quite a number of persons opine this as an upside trend, however, some people think that this development is dangerous. While technological advancement is advantageous for increased production of foods, and causing deflation, it is agreed that utilising modern technology in the commercialisation of such production may cause severe health problems in the long-term. This essay will explore both sides and give a concluding view. To begin with, the major advantage of using technology for producing food commercially is for the purpose of deflation. This is because machines have higher output and are efficient in the food manufacturing process, which in turn will cause the prices of such items to be cheaper and will influence the overall quality of life of the masses positively. For instance, a recent study concluded that building five new government-owned food manufacturing and processing plants in Germany have caused 30% deflation in food prices, which has alleviated poverty and helped to bridge the gap between the rich and the poor in their society. On the other hand, the danger of mass production of food using modern technology seems to be health problems. Because the process of food making with machine involves moving metal parts and the use of preservatives, there seems to be an increased risk of people taking ill to life-threatening sicknesses like cancer. For example, a recent survey concluded that 70% of cancerous patients were sick because they did not eat any reasonable amount of natural foods. This is problematic because even though the commercially produced foods are cheaper, they are not usually as nutritive as natural raw foods, thereby causing a plethora of people who eat such foods to be unhealthy with time. In conclusion, while the positive trend of producing foods for commercial purpose with modern technology is to drive deflation, it is agreed that such an approach to food making is perhaps detrimental to the health of people because of the possibility of ingesting unwanted harmful substances and they are usually less-nutritive in contrast with natural foods.