technological advancement. boon or bane

The best thing since sliced bread. It’s a pleasant Sunday afternoon, you’ve just had brunch as you’ve overslept, got yourself a warm cuppa tea, grabbed your favourite book that you thought will finish reading over the weekend and got comfortable on the balcony swing. A cool breeze whiffs through your hair and you feel the fresh air on your face instantly waking you up from a rather drowsy state of mind. You thought of recollecting your thoughts, ponder upon the past week and think about your future. *ting* There goes the notification on your mobile phone. You glanced to check what it was, maybe it was something menial. You start scrolling through for a few more minutes. Then there are these other apps you have to check coz “FOMO. ” A vicious cycle of checking instagram, whatsapp, snapchat etc that have you hooked on for an hour or two. Now you feel tired because of the mindless scrolling that gave you a rush of dopamine similar to the one experienced while using a slot machine. You have learnt new information about the world, most of which is unnecessary and adds no significant value to your life. You got to know a very polished and refined version of your friends life through social media which subconsciously stung you, not in a bad way but it did. Curiosity, necessity coupled with our desire to better our life, led to the invention which is so remarkable that it fits within the palm of your hand. It has the phone numbers of every person you’ll ever need, before which we used to remember by heart. Plethora of information on the click of a finger, access to the happenings on the other part of the globe within minutes. It has made life easy to the likes of which our grandparents would have never imagined. It has made life easy nevertheless the repercussions that come with its overuse cannot be denied. Inventions are a part of life and one cannot always stay in the past. He should be adapting and seeking to improve his life at whatever minute way possible. However, a balance must be maintained. We got all this innovation but at what cost? We always have something to stare at on our phones however impervious It may be. As doctors, the pursuit of reaching the pinnacle of providing healthcare and comfort to the patients is be demanding of our time and energy, rarely do we have time for ourselves. Amid the chaos take out time for yourself, put the phone down and just be bored, once in a while, for a change!