Some people are replacing plastic bags with paper or cotton bags because they believe such alternatives are more eco-friendly.

The ever-growing use of plastic bags in daily life has led to environmental degradation. This has made many people believe that there must be other alternatives to plastic bags, and some are suggesting replacing them with paper or cotton bags. Personally, while I agree that other options such as paper or cotton can be used to diminish the negative effects that plastic has on the environment, I opine that it cannot be replaced completely. To begin with, plastic carriers take a heavy toll on the environment, and therefore the use of it needs to be minimized. Plastic bags are made of high-density polyethylene (HPDE), whose manufacturing process produces a high amount of air pollution. It has been estimated that one single plastic bag contributes up to 1. 6kg of carbon dioxide to the atmosphere. Moreover, since HDPE bags are heat-resistant and insoluble, it would take centuries for these bags to decompose. Nonetheless, superseding the use of plastic bags is still considered implausible since a quintessential replacement is yet to be found. While paper and cotton bags do have some advantages over plastic when it comes to degradability and recyclability, there still exist many merits of plastic bags that make them indispensable. As surprising as it may sound, paper is responsible for 70 times more air pollution and 50 times more water pollution than plastic bag production according to a Washington Post analysis. Regarding cotton bags, it has been pointed out that producing one cotton tote can release approximately 272kg of carbon dioxide, contributing much more to global warming than a plastic bag does. Additionally, in order to equal the low global warming effect of plastic bags, paper and cotton bags need to be reused. However, it is unlikely that these two can be used as many times as plastic, making either of them a more environmentally friendly choice than plastic bags. In summary, it appears that plastic bags, though having an adverse impact on the environment, cannot be substituted by paper or cotton bags as both can be much worse when taken into close consideration. Instead, I believe the use of plastic bags are to be reduced as much as possible, and humans must find a superior solution to this problem soon enough.