pros and cons graduating during the pandemic

The outbreak of the COVID-19 Pandemic has brought an unprecedented upheaval in our lives and continues to offer new challenges everyday as we grapple to find a lasting solution in addressing it and its myriad off-shoots. It has already left a deep dent on our physical, emotional, moral & economic fabric and the associated pain & agony has prompted spiritual awakening. It has impacted every aspect of human life. Education could not be an exception. Schools, colleges, universities & campuses world-over have been shut, and learning made virtual. Routine functioning has been disrupted - people forced into isolation & lockdowns; movement & travel restricted; business, public institutions & non-essential services discontinued; and public & formal gatherings prohibited, thereby bringing operations to a grinding halt. The world is headed for a “Global Reset”. It is by no means a simple Disruption, as it has invalidated ‘Old Ways’ and is prescribing ‘New Norms’, which shall eventually be the ‘New Normal’. Pace & Scale of the Change is over-whelming, and hence, the need to find new & enduring ways to Transform & Re-set ourselves will be vital. Little did we imagine in the wildest of dreams, that the Final lap of the first phase of our professional education (Medicine) would offer this kind of a challenge, even until early last year! Thrown into it brutally, while on one hand we students have lost out on the crucial months of intensive clinical training, assisting doctors, watching procedures and structured rotation, that was vital for preparing us to transition from student to capable Doctors; on the other hand, the pandemic has opened the door of opportunity for commencing early practice. Govt’s have enacted medical emergency programs which invite us to join the ‘Frontline workforce’ that is combatting the virus, protecting lives & safeguarding humanity from the deadly effects of the pandemic. We must however, not forget that our first responsibility as medical students is to continue our education and not jeopardize our readiness to qualify in the future by not balancing the two i. e. education & Voluntary service during these contrasting times. The pandemic has made us lose a lot of Our lasts - Our last Fest (the most awaited part of the year); our Graduation; countless other celebrations & Events; Clinical sessions - the only time we could practice medicine with no expectations and zero judgement, All just gone! But as wise people, we have adapted to focus on the bright side. In my opinion the silver lining of this pandemic is being able to spend more time and take better care of our loved ones. Witnessing loss of near ones and the human pain, has re-affirmed our faith & re-initiated our pledge to serve humanity. It has reminded us of our responsibility, and, that life cannot be taken for granted. It has made us more empathetic and tolerant than ever before. It has helped us realign our priorities, let go of things that got undue importance and re-affirmed our importance in the global Health Care system. The vaccine and treatments are helping, but the pandemic is far from being over. It could possibly be a long way to go. But it is time to inspire the world with our resilience and show our collective efforts. As frontline warriors helping people with the best of our capabilities, advocating preventive practices and staying optimistic is the need of the hour. As we prepare to become the next generation of Doctors, perhaps be called the ‘COVID GENERATION’, generations following us will have far greater challenges & responsibilities to handle. Here I wish to quote Mr. Barack Obama “It’s fair to say that your generation is graduating into a world that faces more profound challenges than any generation in decades. And It’s is an incredible opportunity for your generation because you don’t have to accept what was considered normal before. You can create a new normal, one that is fairer and treats everyone equally. And you’re up to the challenge. You’re the best educated generation in history “ I wish all my cohorts the Best of Luck on this new and profound journey, and pray that we truly emerge as heroes and pen the new normal!