In many countries, plastic containers have become more popular than ever. They are used in many businesses such as the food and drink industry.

There is obviously evidence that the development of plastic is one of the revolutionary achievements of mankind, which has become an indispensable part of human life. Plastic is now the most common material used to produce containers in the food and beverage sectors. In spite of its instantaneous benefits, I believe that its long-term drawbacks are much more significant. On the one hand, there are several significant advantages of plastic usage in practice. It is clear that single-use plastic, such as cups or containers used in the food and drink industry, is a durable and handed material that is generally cheap for manufacturers in comparison to other alternative materials. In addition, single-use plastic is completely convenient for modern people these days because they often have a busy schedule and would rather buy take-away food and drinks. For example, take-away coffee stalls, which sell coffee contained in plastic bottles, are very popular in Vietnam due to their convenience and low cost. On the other hand, in my perspective, the detrimental effects of using plastic outweigh its advantages. First of all, it is undoubted that the mass consumption of plastic products causes environmental degradation. To be more specific, most plastics are not bio-degradable, meaning that they remain as waste products in the environment for thousands of years and release destructible chemicals, severely contaminating soil and oceans. Secondly, plastic does not only degrade the environment in the form of various pollutions but also is a dominant threat for many living creatures due to toxicity and animals getting stuck in plastic wastes. A recent survey by the National Geographic channel underlined that various sea animals, such as turtles or porpoises, have choked or swallowed plastic straws and bottles littered by humans and suffered digestive functions. In conclusion, being the most preferred material these days, plastic can be seen in every walk of life. Regardless of the benefits it offers, I strongly believe that governments and individuals should take more radical and proactive measures to minimize the negative effect.