Working for student should be compulsory or not

High school years are the most formative stages of life, and pupils can gain valuable experience. Some people think unpaid works should be mandatory as a part of the school curriculum. However, I personally believe it has more drawbacks. Working for charity organizations have some benefits for students. First of all, they can gain practical experience. Pupils have many spare times after school and at the weekend, so instead of wasting time watching TV or playing games, they can work in a charity institute. It is not only beneficial for society but also for students. They learn some skills such as teamwork and how to communicate with different types of people. Secondly, it gives them a great opportunity to realize what kind of job they are interested in. In other word, they become more familiar with the work environment, and this can help them to select a decent job in the future. Although working after school can broaden students’ horizons, the drawbacks of it outweigh the benefits. Firstly, the most important duty of students is studying and learning, which helps them to have a promising future. If they work, they could not concentrate on their homework and might achieve disappointing results. Secondly, working and studying simultaneously can put a severe strain on them. The goal of most students is obtaining a high score in high school and applying to university. Since working is time-consuming, perhaps they should stay awake late and complete their assignments. In conclusion, in my opinion, working for community services have some benefits for some students who are willing to do voluntary works, but it should be optional in the school program.