Teaching students a new language in smaller classes is better than teaching in big groups. Do you agree? Explain.

It is true that educating pupils a new language in small-scale classes are more effective compared to large groups. In my opinion, I agree that teaching in smaller classes are key to effective teaching. However, I also believe that learning a new language in bigger groups is important. It is often thought that educators can pay more attention to every student especially to the weaker ones when they face difficulties in understanding. Research has shown small class size is more successful in improving student’s outcomes as well as enhancing quality of teachers. Furthermore, teachers can form better bond with students as they will spend more one-on-one time with each student, thus making the students to be more engaged in the class during discussions. In addition, small class size allows flexible learning as the atmosphere of smaller groups is usually more relaxed and informal. The more insecure learner can build up their confidence easily to voice their problems to teacher. Also, teacher will put in greater effort in evaluating student’s performance. It is also considered by some that students in bigger groups have greater chance to interact with more pupils and make more friends as interaction is crucial in learning a new language. Besides, there are students who are more introverted to express their problems and views to teachers than to friends. Thus, having more friends will be a bane for them in learning. Students may also learn to work well in groups because team work is a necessity in a large classrooms. In conclusion, while bigger classrooms enables students to interact more, I believe that effect of learning a new language in smaller groups is more significant. ( 277 words )