Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

Quoting A. P. J Abdul Kalam, “Teaching is a very noble profession that shapes the character, caliber, and future of an individual”. The prompt suggests that students' academic performance should determine the salary received by their respective teacher. In my opinion, I mostly disagree with this suggestion for three reasons. First of all, teachers' income should not be based on their students' capabilities because students’ academic performance depends on their learning capabilities and punishing the teacher by means of their income is inhumane. The current pandemic did not leave a stone turned to hurt every profession, but teaching was most certainly hit hard. As schools everywhere closed up, online teaching started in full swing. While the sudden change in platform would have theoretically seemed as not a big deal, teachers worldwide suffered with a landslide of issues. Increase in apathy and boredom from the students were just some of the factors that ensured a hard time for teachers. This stark change was a difficult one for teachers as well, as navigating an online teaching environment wasn’t necessarily their forte, having been teaching all these years in person. Online learning and its demerits are plentiful. Students academic performance plummeted and the bridge to making our way back to the performance the students’ had pre-pandemic is going to be a challenging one. Teachers are already underpaid, some even below the income poverty line, delayed salaries and cuts in income were some of the horrors the pandemic brought in for teachers. In such a current state, if we reinstate the way teachers are paid and make it directly tethered to their students' academic performance, we would be perpetuating a hostile work environment for teachers, one that doesn’t even pay them enough to even survive. Secondly, the shift in economic class might be another vice teachers face, with some teachers, particularly those in rich school systems, having an unfair advantage over the others in mid to low economic brackets. For example, a high school teacher in London is going to make significantly more money than a teacher in Somalia even if his or her teaching abilities are not on par with the average. Richer students have the advantage of better study material, service and the best of technological devices to boost their academic performance over students in poorer neighborhoods having lesser access to learning materials. Students in poverty tensed areas tend to have higher depression rates with that also being a factor in decreased motivation to study. Their performance in turn alleviated with added pressures of making money to survive, the learning surrounding will most definitely will be negative and discouraged to say the least. In such a case, having teachers’ salaries tied to student performance would be unfair to teachers working equally as hard or even harder in lower income areas pushing the economic gap even further. However, there must exist a mechanism in place that evaluates teachers to ensure a certain level of quality in teaching. For example, an annual or monthly feedback to be taken from students about the teaching style of their teachers which helps keep a check on the teaching level. Such a system will not only weed out the bad teachers but will also ensure the students feel validated for their opinions. With such a balanced system, the teaching staff will be pushed to perform better and a positive competitive spirit will always be prevalent amongst teachers resulting in the betterment of students' performance and grades. But having the teachers take a dip in salaries due to the performance of students would be a cruel stance. In conclusion, the decision of assessing teachers salaries by their students’ performance might be complex one, but I stand firmly with it not being so. Maybe if there was a system in place that would benefit both the teacher and students, with students having a high performance level and teachers upskilling their teaching modes, not hurting the teachers pay, I would fully advocate for it.