Teacher of English is a good profession or not

As a young teacher of English, I was really inspired by everything around me: my students, my colleagues, my headmaster and even students’ relatives. I worked in creative environment, prepared motivating lessons, planned after-school activities, developed professionally. There were a lot of funny moments and touching stories, but one I will always remember. Once, in the middle of the term, I was invited to the headmaster’s office and the headmaster proposed to organize individual classes for one of my students - Kate. Kate’s grandmother, who was the sponsor of the lyceum, was sitting next and smiling in her bossy way. As soon as I saw her I realized that there were no chances to escape from the trap. I was expected to agree, and I didn’t have courage to refuse. I used to be a bit of a yes-man. From then on, I spent two days every week with Kate. She was from a wealthy family and was obliged to live up to her name, even if she felt to be the black sheep of the family. At that time she was a very shy apathetic girl with a bunch of psychological problems starting with her desire to spend her life in solitary confinement and keep herself to herself to absence of desire to wear trendy things her grandmother bought her and forced her to wear. While we were having our classes Kate was often reserved and silent, or sometimes neurotic and set in her ways looking at me with her unhappy eyes and not managing to do anything with English tasks though she dreamt to please her granny. To make things worth, trendy looks at the lesson were compulsory. It was a real pain in the neck. After three years of language games, extraordinary projects, school plays, tricky tests, reading in original, and everything in English (and the fact that our brain is a malleable organ) I felt something changed. Kate became more perceptive, tried to find her own solutions to problems and developed her good qualities (she was always conscientious and tended to think first, act later). Previously, Kate wasn’t in the habits of wearing short dresses or skirts. Originally, she was wearing long dresses or skirts in dark colours. The moment I saw her in a provocative red silky skirt and a strapless top was eye-opening for me. Next month she put her name forward for participating in a school play (of course in English). She didn’t immediately become the life and soul of the party but the combination of her workaholic nature and my persistence revealed Kate’s personality and opened this dark horse to the world. There was something in her eyes when she announced that she had decided to be a teacher of English. She looked a sort of an ambitious young person ready to change the world. Her grandmother flew into rage instantly. She had a reputation of an obstinate business woman and a real tyrant in her family. She wanted Kate, a granddaughter named after her, to become a lawyer. I was the only person to blame. Of course, I wanted to clear my name persuading her that we had never even discussed the future with my student (I was sure Kate would be the best ever teacher but was convinced that her grandmother had chosen everything cut and dried), but I failed. Ever since, we met only at the lessons preparing for entrance exams, doing a great amount of homework, but extra classes became a taboo. I knew that Kate wanted to find her feet and took advantage of opportunities, but she was not allowed to choose her future career and reluctantly agreed to get a degree in Law. Five years later, she graduated from university. Being on a steep learning curve for her first year in a famous law firm, she worked hard to impress everyone. In two years, she got married and had a baby. In the meantime, I moved with my family to a bustling but picturesque capital city, found a new job, new house and new students, and we lost touch. In a couple of years, I bought a magazine and to my surprise, read an interview with a founder of a chain of language schools “Perfect English”. It was difficult to believe but English remained Kate’s life-long passion, because it was her face I saw in the photo. She made a name for herself reaching the top of the tree in teaching English and developing educational sphere. Subsequently, she phoned and said that our additional classes had had a profound effect on her. She went with her gut feeling, trusted her instincts, passed specialized exams in teaching English and now runs her business with a new husband and three children.