teach children competition or co-operation

People have different views about whether children should be thought to be competitive or co-operative. While a spirit of competition can sometimes be useful in life, I believe that the ability to co-operate is more important. On one hand, competition motivates children to work hard. When children try to compete in a competition, they will learn how to reach their goals independently and as a result, they will become more self-confident. It can be argued that competition should be encouraged in order to prepare children for adult life. On the other hand, It is perhaps even more important to prepare children for the many aspects of adults life that required co-operation. In the workplace, adults are expected to work in a team, follow instructions given by their superior, or supervise and support the junior members of staff. Team collaboration skills are much more useful than a competitive determination win. This is the attitude that I believe schools should foster younger people. In conclusion, I can understand why people might want to encourage competitiveness in children, but It seems to me that a co-operative attitude is much more desirable in adult life.