TASK FOR THE DAY Submit your work paragraph by paragraph Education is not a luxury, but a basic human right and as such should be free for everyone irrespective of personal wealth.

Learning is the key to personal advancement in life whether formal or informal. Every one deserves to be enlightened in every aspects of life and should get educated. Some people say education is a fundamental human right and not a luxury and as such it should be free for everybody regardless of their financial status. However, this essay agrees with the assertion and shall discuss exhaustively the opinion on the following premise. Just as water is peculiar to human for survival so is education for societal advancement. Growth and enlightenment either personal or collective only comes through learning and as such people need to be offered the opportunity to acquire knowledge in order to contribute their own quota to the society, whether they can or cannot financially afford it. Take for instance, some European countries such as Finland, Germany and Norway offer all her citizens free learning in all levels of education so as to heighten the development of their economies by growing their human capital net worth. Providing people with free education will not only increase personal skills but also effect general societal growth. Another reason for the rooting of free education for everyone is that it would bring about equality and eradicate social stratification. There is the division amongst people by the society about the level of quality of education one obtains. Although, not being looked into, it has further caused an upswing in the way people are rated. In Nigeria for example, people who cannot afford quality education are being written off by other people whose financial capacities could avail them of the luxury of higher learning. Moreover, they are not even allowed to mingle in the same socioeconomic function as their counterparts as they do not belong to the same strata hence, the continuing quest for societal validation. One way to bring about equality amongst people is to consider education a free scheme for everyone to participate in equally. Conclusively, since education is a basic right of the people, it should be made free for every individual in the society and at every level of learning. This would give a hand in the advancement and growth of the economy as well as nose-dive the stigma of socio-economic division amongst people and further promote a peaceful living.