The use of corporal punishment (physically hitting students) in schools is in decline, yet it should be used to improve behaviour. with this statement?

Although corporal punishment in schools and other children's institutions has declined every year, even nowadays you can meet an opinion that it helps raising children and makes their behaviour better. I think that this type of teaching is completely unacceptable. On the one hand, it is true that raising children is difficult, they can be unmanageable and teacher's patience can be limited. That's why some instructors use physical hitting of pupils. But in this way achieving obedience is absolutely impossible. The most common effect is fear and hatred of the teacher. Children start to think about avoiding punishment instead of learning whereas their psychological condition permanently gets worse and they receive irreparable harm. In addition, there is some data confirming that physically abused children much more often suffer from depression and feel difficulties in communication with other people. Secondly, a lot of research about the human brain's work shows that only internal motivation has the meaning for successful activities and achievement of goals. The most important task of education is to captivate the children to learn by themselves. It is very important to choose a training program that would be interesting for children and would be suitable for their age. The teacher's personality also has meaning, specifically he must be strict and consistent, but at the same time fair and imperturbable. Talking about external motivation in the form of physical punishment, it doesn't make pupils study hard and has only the opposite result. Studying is associated with pain, humiliation, becomes very undesirable, which turns again to bad behavior. Summarizing, it can be confidently said that corporal punishment in any form is fully improper, because they only bring harm for childern.