Task 2 writing, urbanization

Urbanization is defined as increase in population of people living in urban areas. There is no denying that, people in numerous countries are moving away from villages to live in urban areas, rapidly rising the rates of urbanization. The following paragraphs will discuss the reasons for this shift as well as the difficulties it can result in, before reaching a conclusion. Firstly, the most significant reason for this shift is a better quality of life in urban areas and a number of people in villages are below the poverty line. People in villages do not earn money equivalently for the work they do. For instance, despite of working for 7 to 8 hours a day even in scorching heat, a farmer earns less money when compared to a building worker or a daily labor in the cities. Besides this, lack of job opportunities, poor health care, electricity issues also contribute to this tendency. Furthermore, urban lifestyle attracts many people of villages. What are the negative effects of increasing urbanization? On one hand, overcrowding of cities is a critical problem due to this shift. In addition, a number of people can be seen struggling in cities when they do not find proper accommodation. This can also lead to increased traffic and pollution. On the other hand, as we already know that farmer is the backbone of our country, many food resources come from villages. While more and more people move to urban areas, we may not have enough farmers in the future and farming will lose its significance. To conclude, I believe that low quality of life, poor health care, lack of jobs in rural areas are the main reasons for urbanization. According to my view, this trend can cause overcrowding of cities and decreased food resources from villages in the future.