Task 2 , writing , crimes

People are divided in their opinion regarding punishments to criminals based on the magnitude of the crime. It is believed by many people that few prisoners should be punished by imposing them to do free community work rather than giving them a prison sentence. Let us examine both the views before reaching a concrete decision. Firstly, everyone who is a law breaker irrespective of the crime deserves to be punished in one or the other way. Although every criminal should be punished, not all of them deserve jail time. Besides this, punishment can be given in various forms based on the nature of offense. For instance, petty crimes like pick pocketing, trespassing, shoplifting, reckless driving do not require for the person to be in jail and recorded hours of community service is sufficient. What happens if every offender is put in prison? One of the most significant problems is overcrowding of prisons. Because of overcrowding, there is a fair chance of serious offenders to be released out of prison. Not only overcrowding but also petty criminals when put in jail can be influenced by convicts motivating them to do bigger crimes. However, when people get away with the crime by doing community service, there can be reduced scope for change, so along with this they must be charged with a fine. In conclusion, crimes like minor theft, trespassing and reckless driving do not require serious jail time and overcrowding of prisons should be considered as well. I completely agree with the idea, that unpaid community service should be a mode of punishment to certain prisoners.