Task 2, writing, over packaging of products

There is no denying that, nowadays packaging of a number of products is overly done, which is not only costing the consumers but also environment. While, many people say that producer is responsible for curtailing this issue, some think that consumers should steer clear of over packaged products. Let us examine both the views before reaching a concrete decision. To begin with, the main problem of excessive packaging is, usage of a significant amount of plastic which is non bio degradable, therefore accumulating in the soil after disposal. For instance, online products are first packed in a small cardboard box, then bubble wrap made of plastic is wrapped around it, which in turn goes into an another large box and is sealed using plasters. Furthermore, the cardboard unfortunately augments co2 emission. On the other hand, over packaging shoots up the prices significantly. Therefore, minimal packaging makes it cost-effective to the buyers. This is a tactic used by the producers, in order to make the product look appealing, thus, attracting potential customers. To cite an example, in various burger joints, burgers are first wrapped in a paper and then put in a cardboard container which is then handed to us in a paper bag. Instead of doing this, if it simply served in the container it would alleviate the cost. To sum up, usage of more plastic and also, surprisingly high prices are the major effects of over packaging. I believe that, the responsibility lies within the producer, who by taking sustainable measures can make packaging of products more economical and environment friendly.