Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of the society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

People have different views of how could children be good members of society. To be a helpful grown-up, it takes a lot of time to learn many life skills. In my opinion, it would be a cooperation of both parents and schools. When a child was born, all parents do want him or her to become a good member in the future. Therefore, they have to teach their child some kind of basic knowledge, from very normal work to more important one. Parents become the first teachers. For instance, parents teach their 6-year-old boy how to make his bed when he gets up, clean his plates after meals, sweep or mop the floor when it is dirty and follow the rules. When he becomes older, parents teach him how to behave others nicely. However, children may not understand clearly. Consequently, they need illustration for what parents tell them. Schools are the place where children can learn more skills in their life. Children learn those from every wisdom lesson of teacher, then they have an opportunity to apply what they have learnt in reality. For example, besides the lessons for students in class, schools frequently organize some outdoor activities for them to join. One of the meaningful activities is voluntary work. When the students come to the orphanage, they have some singing or dancing performances to make the abandoned children feel happy, as well as donate their old clothes or books to them. At the end of outdoor lesson, the children can share to each other how well they understand. That is the way how the students learn about humanity from school, which helps them become good members of society in the future. In conclusion, there is a close-knit combination between parents and schools to help the young generation to have a positive thinking and responsibility to society.