talk about "quality education"

The phrase “quality education” is used frequently in the context of development. It is also the focus of the fourth United Nations Sustainable Development Goal. An education, then, allows for upward socioeconomic mobility and is the key to escaping poverty. Over the past decade, much progress has been made in increasing access to education and schooling at all levels, especially for girls. However, around 260 million children were still out of school in 2018 - almost a fifth of the global population in that age group. And more than half of children and young people worldwide do not meet the minimum proficiency standards in reading and math. In 2020, as the COVID-19 pandemic spread across the globe, the majority of countries announced temporary school closures, affecting more than 91% of students worldwide. By April 2020, nearly 1. 6 billion children and young people were out of school. And the nearly 369 million children who rely on school meals need to find other sources of nutrition every day. Never before have so many children dropped out of school at the same time, disrupting their studies and affecting the lives of children, especially the most disadvantaged and disadvantaged groups. The global pandemic has far-reaching consequences that could jeopardize hard-won gains in global education improvement.