Talk about a special present you received and why it was important to you? Include details to support your response.

Due to the recent technological advances, the leisure activities of the young ones have changed. Although, the use of technological devices during the free time of children attracts them to the discipline of science and technology, the demerits clearly offset this benefit. One commonly cited advantage of the use of new technology during the past time of youngsters is that it endears them to the study of science and technology. This is due to the fact that young ones are inquisitive and usually want to know how their toys and electronic devices function and they often have a desire to construct such items. For example, children who play with electronic toys do have the yearning to be engineers in the future so as to built similar items and a thus, they are attracted to science subjects at school. Therefore, if these children have not been exposed to modern recreational devices, they may not have developed an interest in science and technology. However, there are two important demerits of the effects of recent technological developments on the free time of children. Firstly, it creates more health problems for young ones. This arises owing to the fact that such recreational activities promote sedentary lifestyle compared to the active events such as running among kids few decades ago. Thus, children are predisposed to obesity, cardiovascular challenges and other diseases because they are less active. For instance, the surge in the use of phones and computers by children to listen to music, watch videos and play games has been linked to eye problems and obesity among them. This reveals a negative outcome from the use of modern technology when children are free. Secondly, it makes youngsters less social. Many children now have little time to make friends and interact with their love ones as a result of the use of electronic devices. As a consequence, some children now prefer to be left alone during leisure rather than play with their peers. In conclusion, although, many young ones are now attracted to science and technology in school as a result of the devices they play with during their leisure time, however, it also results in more health complications for these ones and it reduces their interactions with people around them. On the balance, the disadvantages outweighs the advantages.